Books I would love to read this summer


Here are the books I want to read this summer!

 1. “To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before” by Jenny Han18051352

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is the story of Lara Jean, who has never openly admitted her crushes, but instead wrote each boy a letter about how she felt, sealed it, and hid it in a box under her bed. But one day Lara Jean discovers that somehow her secret box of letters has been mailed, causing all her crushes from her past to confront her about the letters: her first kiss, the boy from summer camp, even her sister’s ex-boyfriend, Josh. As she learns to deal with her past loves face to face, Lara Jean discovers that something good may come out of these letters after all. (Goodreads)

I know you’re not supposed to judge the book by it’s cover, but I’m a total sucker for books with a great cover… The front cover is just to simple and great designed! The story sounds so amazing too! It makes me want to send some letterns myself hahaha^^

I’ve read some comments and reviews that people have written about it, saying that “it dosen’t have any romance” and that “the character dosen’t mature trough the book”. I haven’t read it, so I can’t say if they’re wrong or right. Personally, I don’t care if it has romance or not. It’s great with a break from all the un-realistic romance books that makes you squeal of excitement, but then makes you realize that you’re kinda jealous of the main characther and that something like that would never happen in your life (just typical teenage logic here haha XD)

2. “The Maze Runner” by James Dashner

“If you ain’t scared, you ain’t human.”

When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his name. He’s surrounded by strangers–boys whose memories are also gone.

Outside the towering stone walls that surround the Glade is a limitless, ever-changing maze. It’s the only way out–and no one’s ever made it through alive.

Then a girl arrives. The first girl ever. And the message she delivers is terrifying. (Goodreads)

I. Want. To. Read. It. Because. It. Sounds. Amazing. Do I need to explain more?

Plus, there’s a dude with the same name as one of my biases! How can I not!

3. “Alice in Tumblr-land” by Tim Manley

17465444

The Ugly Duckling still feels gross compared to everyone else, but now she’s got Instagram, and there’s this one filter that makes her look awesome. Cinderella swaps her glass slippers for Crocs. The Tortoise and the Hare Facebook stalk each other. Goldilocks goes gluten free. And Peter Pan finally has to grow up and get a job, or at least start paying rent.

Here are more than one hundred fairy tales, illustrated and re-imagined for today. Instead of fairy godmothers, there’s Siri. And rather than big bad wolves, there are creepy dudes on OkCupid. In our brave new world of social networking, YouTube, and texting, fairy tales can once again lead us to �happily ever after”—and have us laughing all the way. (Goodreads)

I think this will be a funny book to read^^ This generation is truly all about Internet and social medias and I think these “modern fairlytales” will be an ironic image of our lifestyle.

 

 4. “The Fire Horse Girl” by Kay Honeyman

14746310

Jade Moon is a Fire Horse—the worst sign in the Chinese zodiac for girls, said to make them stubborn, willful, and far too imaginative. But while her family despairs of marrying her off, she has a passionate heart and powerful dreams, and wants only to find a way to make them come true.

Then a young man named Sterling Promise comes to their village to offer Jade Moon and her father a chance to go to America. While Sterling Promise’s smooth manners couldn’t be more different from her own impulsive nature, Jade Moon falls in love with him on the long voyage. But America in 1923 doesn’t want to admit many Chinese, and when they are detained at Angel Island, the “Ellis Island of the West”, she discovers a betrayal that destroys all her dreams. To get into America, much less survive there, Jade Moon will have to use all her stubbornness and will to break a new path… one as brave and dangerous as only a Fire Horse girl can imagine. (Goodreads)

 

8 thoughts on “Books I would love to read this summer

  1. The Maze Runner is such an adrenaline rush! I think the movie is coming out later in the summer, so it would be a good idea to read the book before the film comes out. (: Also, I’m unsure if I want to read To All the Boys I’ve Ever Loved… it looks intriguing and I agree that the cover is tempting, but I’ve heard comments about the vapidity of the protagonist and the plot. I look forward to reading your thoughts if you decide to check it out.

    Like

    • I’m really looking forward to The Maze Runner! I have heard so much great about it and like you said, that it’s such an adrenaline rush! Of course I can never know before I have read it, but I have a good feeling that this might become one of my top 10 books^^ And the movie’s coming out soon? Then I have to start reading before there’s spoilers and screenscaps all over the social medias^^

      Like

  2. You may have read negative reviews about To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before- but let me just put in my thought on the book- which is I LOVED it. Jenny Han’s writing matches the feel of the cover (which I ADORE) perfectly and I read right through her smooth prose and quick plot. A warning though- this is in a two book series and the ending will have you impatiently begging for the next book. ^^

    Alice in tumblr-land does look interesting… Might have to check that one out. Thanks for the suggestion!

    Like

    • How great that you found Alice in Tumblr-land interesting and I’m happy that you appreciate my book suggestion! ^^

      I can’t wait to read To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before! Like you said, it has a smooth prose and quick plot, which is exactly what I need this summer^^

      Thanks for all the likes and the comment^^
      Always appreciated<3

      Like

Leave a Reply

